Etixx – Quick-Step crowned TTT World Champion

After Valkenburg and Firenze, Etixx-Quick-Step took the gold medals in Doha, following a masterful display in the desert.

Bob Jungels, Marcel Kittel, Yves Lampaert, Tony Martin, Niki Terpstra and Julien Vermote will go down in the history books as the winners of the 2016 World TTT Championships, a race which Etixx – Quick-Step led from start to finish, under the boiling sun of the Middle East. The 40km-long course was a pan-flat one, suited to the powerful specialists, but very technical as times, especially in the first and closing kilometers, as it included several corners and roundabouts.

Starting from the Lusail Sports Complex, the route took the riders on roads which many knew from the Tour of Qatar, before hitting the final part in Pearl Island. Etixx – Quick-Step was the penultimate team to roll off the ramp and set the best time at the two checkpoints (13.6 km and 26.4 km), before stopping the clock in 42:32, for an average speed of 56.426 km/h. BMC was runner-up, 11 seconds adrift, while Orica-BikeExchange rounded out the podium, on a day in which Etixx – Quick-Step became the first three-time winner of the race against the clock.