Debusschere wins Dwars door Vlaanderen

Jens Debusschere sprinted to the victory at Dwars door Vlaanderen this afternoon. It was an exciting finale with Greg Van Avermaet who was caught with only 250 metres left to go. Debusschere then beat the Frenchman Bryan Coquard.

Today’s early break consisted of six riders. Immediately Lotto Soudal started controlling the gap. Mike Teunissen and Jonas Rickaert jumped away from the peloton with eighty kilometres to go. Soon Luke Durbridged joined them. On the Eikenberg there were several other movements in the peloton, Sean De Bie was very attentive at that point. The next hill was the Taaienberg where Jens Debusschere and Tiesj Benoot arrived at the top with the best of the peloton. Then Jelle Wallays, last year’s winner, attacked. Seven riders accompanied him.

The group with Wallays closed the gap on Durbridge, Rickaert and Teunissen. Unfortunately Jelle punctured on the Paterberg. The Lotto Soudal rider lost contact with the group. On the Tiegemberg, in the last twenty kilometres, his teammate Tiesj Benoot raised the pace. With five others he could bridge to Kevin Van Melsen, the last member of the early breakaway at the head of the race.

With ten kilometres to go they were caught up by a group with Debusschere, Ligthart and Wallays. Just before Nokereberg, Van Avermaet attacked. In the peloton the Lotto Soudal riders did all they could to let Jens Debusschere sprint for the victory. Also Trek-Segafredo still aimed for a sprint. With 250 metres to go it was over for Van Avermaet. In the sprint Debusschere was a tad faster than Bryan Coquard. Edward Theuns got third.

Read more: